Composer & Orchestrator for Media
Ewan Conducting Hotspot 2.jpg


Ewan Clark is an award-winning film composer and orchestrator based in Wellington, New Zealand. As an orchestrator, Ewan’s recent projects include Tim Prebble's score for the feature film One Thousand Ropes, which won Best Original Music in a Film at the 2017 APRA Silver Scrolls. He also orchestrated David Long’s score for Beyond the Edgewhich was nominated for the same award in 2014.

As a composer, Ewan has scored the feature length docudrama Doubt: The Scott Watson Case (TVNZ1), the feature film Hotspot: Log in At Own Risk, and numerous short films and documentaries that have screened at film festivals around the globe. A recent highlight was collaborating with composer Rhian Sheehan to co-compose the score for Zoe McIntosh's short The World In Your WindowThis film has won various awards, including best fiction short at the Melbourne International Film Festival. Click here for a list of Ewan's credits.

Ewan’s compositions and orchestrations have been performed in concert by the Philharmonia Orchestra (London), Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra, Auckland Symphony Orchestra, Christchurch Symphony Orchestra, Dunedin Symphony Orchestra, and Baroque Voices.
Ewan holds an MMus in Composition for Screen (Distinction) from the Royal College of Music (2012) and PhD from Victoria University of Wellington (2018). In his spare time Ewan plays trombone with the Wellington Chamber Orchestra, which he has also conducted in 2017.

To receive a quarterly newsletter update by email, please click here.

 Ewan Clark conducting the Wellington Chamber Orchestra in 2017

Ewan Clark conducting the Wellington Chamber Orchestra in 2017






Hippocratic (2017), score composed by Stephen Gallagher, dir. Mike Hill

We Are Stars: Planeterium Dome Show (2015), score composed by Rhian Sheehan, dir. Max Crow

One Thousand Ropes (2016), score composed by Tim Prebble, dir. Tusi Tamasesi

Beyond the Edge (2013), score composed by David Long, dir. Leanne Pooley

Back to the Moon for Good: Planeterium Dome Show (2013), score composed by Rhian Sheehan, dir. Max Crow


Music preparation

When We Go To War (2014), score for TV series composed by Tom McLeod

The Ground We Won (2014), score for short documentary composed by David Long

Under The Mountain (2009), score for feature film composed by Victoria Kelly





Beyond the Edge Poster.jpg
hippocratic poster.jpg
one-thousand-ropes poster.jpg
wwgtw poster.jpg
back to the moon.jpg
tgww poster.jpg

Composition for feature films

Doubt: The Scott Watson Case (2016), dir. Yvonne MacKay

Hotspot: Log in at Own Risk (2012), dir. Vitor Vilela

The Sunshine Girl (2009), dir. Nicole Perry


Composition for documentaries

199 Little Heroes (2018), two episodes directed by Bonnie Philp (Lucy and Kevar)

Gina (2015), dir. Wendell Cook

Chilika: Jewel of Odisha (2013), dir. Shekar Dattatri

The Truth About Tigers (2010), dir. Shekar Dattatri

SOS: Save Our Sholas (2009), dir. Shekar Dattatri


Composition for short films — drama

The World In Your Window (2016), dir. Zoe McIntosh (co-composed with Rhian Sheehan)

Unit 6 (2014), dir. Jane Sherning Warren

Osmonde (2014), dir. Elsa Bauverd

A Boy's Tale (2013), dir. James Cork

Odd (2012), dir. Karim Elshenawy

Spoils (2012), dir. Sebastian Barner-Ramussen

The Outsider (2012), dir. Nikka Lorak

Money Can't Buy (2010), dir. Nusrat Howard-Moore

Carnal Seasoning (2008), dir. Chris Tout

A Son Rising (2008), dir. Rory Leighton


Composition for short films — comedy

The Wishboners (2018), dir. Jaimee Poipoi

Loner (2014), dir. Wendell Cooke

Snowmen (2014), dir. Jonathan Brough

Keep it Up! (2008), dir. Adam Fresco

Knock Three Times (2008), dir. Aston Garratt

Are You Lonesome (2004), dir. Viola Löffler


Composition for short films — thriller

An Arm and a Leg (2017), dir. Jonathan King

Let Down Your Hair (2015), dir. James Ashcroft

Internal (2012), dir. Oliver McGuirk

Hell Hath (2009), dir. Chris Tout

An Aggressive Gift (2008), dir. Chris Tout


Composition for short films — fantasy or science fiction

PIGS (2016), dir. James Ashcroft

The Space Trash Men (2013), dir. Ben Childs

Birdsong (2013), dir. Ben Childs

El Tiempo de la Luz (2011), dir. Rebeca Sánchez

Kids Rule (2011), dir. James Cork


Composition for short films — animation

The Real Rare Arctic Firefly (2017), dir. Matasila Freshwater

Wellingtopia (2016), dir. Matasila Freshwater

Shmeat (2015), dir. Matasila Freshwater


Other composition credits

Dr Sally and the Suicidal Sleepwalker (2009), dir. Chris Tout (web series)

Paw Justice (2009), dir. Craig Dunn (television commercial)

Scapegoat (2011), dir. Carl Chetty (radio play)

the world in your window poster.jpg
osmonde poster.jpg
LDYH poster.jpg
el tiempo de la luz poster.jpg
Hotspot poster.jpg
Odd poster.jpg
EDITEDfinalposterwebsite1 internal.jpg
shmeat poster.jpg
unit 6 poster.jpg
the outsider poster.jpg
space trash poster.jpg
birdsong poster.jpg


twiyw image of boy cropped.jpg

2019 Oscar-qualifier: The World in Your Window (March 2018)

Zoe McIntosh's beautiful short film The World In Your Window, just keeps winning awards at film festivals, and is now a qualifier for the 2019 Oscars, in the category "best live action short film". I co-wrote the score with Rhian Sheehan. Here is a list of its awards to date:

  • Jury prize at Clermont Ferrand Film Festival, France
  • Grand Prix award at Prague Short Film Festival
  • Best international short film at Short Shorts in Asia, Japan
  • Best international short film at Melbourne International Film Festival
  • NZCS Silver cinematography award
  • Best Director at Show Me Shorts film festival

Best Original Score in HP 48Hours 2017 (November 2017)

Ewan has won Best Original Score at the Grand Final of the HP 48Hours 2017 film challenge. The film, The Real Rare Arctic Firefly, made by team Lovely Bongo Drums, also won Best Animation. This builds on previous success in 2016, in which Ewan's score for Wellingtopia won Best Original Score at the Wellington City Final.
Both films were directed by Matasila Freshwater and animated by Chris Callus, the makers of Shmeat.

Arctic Firefly.jpg

one-thousand-ropes poster.jpg

Orchestrating One Thousand Ropes (September 2017)

Tim Prebble's score for One Thousand Ropes, which I worked on as orchestrator and conductor, has won Best Original Music in a Feature Film at the 2017 APRA Silver Scrolls. I was responsible for orchestrating the material played by the Aroha String Quartet and the Tudor Consort choir, and also conducted at the session. Prior to its cinematic release, the film screened at Berlinale, in the prestigious Panorama section.